And he wanted something to eat. Do not make this chili unless you like burning your face off.

gaffigan

That quote is by one of my favorite comedians, Jim Gaffigan. This sums up my beliefs about spicy food. I like spicy food, as long as it is not too spicy. My heat level is right around Texas Pete.

peppers

Before I get into the recipe, let’s talk Scoville units. The Scoville scale of heat is a study devised by Wilbur Scoville in 1912. He developed the Scoville Organoleptic test. I won’t get into the science of it as it can be rather boring, but it basically tests what each pepper does when it comes in contact with the tongue and mouth.

A Jalepeño, which is a common mild pepper enjoyed by many,has a rating of around 10,000 units at the most. The most powerful pepper in the world is the Carolina Reaper. It boasts a Scoville unit measure of 2,200,000. Check out that list at https://www.pinterest.com/pin/245586985907213760/

Now to the chili. I started off normally with a sweet Vidalia onion. I knew not many would try this chili so I made a small batch portion. I used just half a pound of 80/20 beef and half of an onion to start. The heat came next.

Here are the flavor offenders.

spices

The main ingredient today was the Habanero pepper. It tops out at around 300,000 Scoville units which is far beyond my comfort level. I chopped up 8 of them with 4 Jalapeños. Add some Cayenne pepper ( 40,000 units) and crushed red pepper.

chopped

The simmer begins as all those flavors mix. The biggest problem I had during the cooking process was after handling all those peppers, even after washing my hands several times, any part of my body that I touched was burning. My recently clipped fingernails, my lips, my eyes, and even my ears were on fire.

After the meat had browned, I added the “Aldi” brand Rotel and kidney beans. Next came the chipotle peppers. Chipotle is just a term that means the pepper was smoked before it became hotter than the surface of the sun. The chili smelled fantastic. Habanero is naturally very sweet, but it attacks you with heat when you consume it.

My taste test proved that I could not eat this chili. Maybe there are people out there who can. My own daughter is from India and is used to every meal being spicy and she could not eat more than one bite. This is truly a meal made for the devil himself.

 

Ingredients:

80/20 ground beef

1/2 chopped Vidalia onion

8 Habanero peppers

4 Jalapeño peppers

Garlic salt to taste

Dash of Cayenne pepper powder

Dash of crushed red pepper

1 can Rotel

1 can drained Kidney beans

1 can Chipotle peppers

 

Follow my Facebook @ https://www.facebook.com/kyle.crutchfield.5

 

