chicken triumph

A fellow chili connoisseur I know recently shared a recipe with me for a white chicken chili. I have tried similar chicken recipes before and have never had much success. I was a bit timid to attempt this, but after hearing the passionate way she described the final product, I had to give it a go.

I have done my best to follow the recipe she gave me, but I have varied a little towards my style of cooking. For example, instead of green chilies, I used spinach and I used chicken stock instead of chicken broth because that is what I had in my pantry.

The main difference in the preparation of my chili is instead of Sautéing the chicken and cutting it into cubes, I slow cooked it in a crock pot to make it tender and “shredded.” The entire dish was made in the crock pot so it was nice to only dirty one dish.

The ingredient list was a little bit longer than my usual chili, but in the end, it was worth it.

ingredients

Slow cook the chicken breasts and add spices in the chicken stock with the Canola oil. I let my chicken cook for about 4 hours in the crock pot. When it was ready I put the chicken in a Ziplock bag to “tenderize” it.

Next, I added the beans and the heavy cream and lowered the heat. The last touch was the sour cream. My best advice with this recipe is to go heavy on the pepper, garlic, and sour cream.

This dish was amazing. I will be making it again in the near future. It is the definition of a non-traditional chili, and I loved it.

Ingredients

2 Chicken breasts

Garlic salt

Canola oil

1 can great northern beans, rinsed and drained

16 oz. chicken stock (or broth)

8 oz. chopped fresh spinach

Cumin

Oregano

Black pepper

Cayenne pepper

8 oz. sour cream

16 oz. Heavy cream

Follow me on

Facebook and Google+

