peppertriumph

It’s time to try something very new and unexplored for me. I have been researching lately about what meals people will try based on their diets. People on certain diets must accomplish incredible feats just to find a meal that they like and that is allowed.

This led me to several Paleo diet websites such as this one. The Paleo diet has become popular over the past few years so I thought I would try for a recipe that stayed within their limits. If you don’t know the diet well, it isn’t complicated, but basically sugars and dairies are on the naughty list. Every chili I have made in this blog so far has been loaded with sugar or dairy, but I found just the recipe.

 

I made a Thai inspired chili. If the title is a little confusing, in my town we have a small chain restaurant called Chili Thai. Some common ingredients in Thai food are curry and coconut milk. Now let’s get cooking.

First, as usual, brown the ground beef in a pot and add the cumin, salt, and pepper. Once all the pink is gone, add the curry paste and chicken stock. Let that simmer while you chop up your bell peppers and zucchini. There is some debate in the Paleo world on potatoes. Some say yes some say no, but it is generally agreed that sweet potatoes are acceptable, so let’s add one. Chop it up into small cubes so it won’t take too long to soften.

simmering

Throw it all in the pot and let it simmer for about 20 minutes. While it simmers, finely chop up the Cilantro on the side and cut the lime into wedges. These are toppings. Personally, I hate cilantro, it tastes like soap and many agree with me. Check it out. Either way, it will make the dish truly Thai.

The final product was pretty tasty. If you try it, let me know what you think.

 

Ingredients

1 lb. 80/20 mix ground beef (grass-fed if you want to follow Paleo standards)

1 cup chicken stock

1 sweet potato

1 green bell pepper

1 red bell pepper

1 zucchini

1 can coconut milk

8 oz. tomato sauce

cilantro and lime

4 oz. red curry paste (found in international food sections)

cumin to taste

salt and pepper to taste

Follow me on Facebook and Google +

